Elected Officials

Linden is governed under the City form of government with a Mayor and an 11-member City Council, of which 10 are elected from Wards. The Mayor and council President are elected at-large to four-year terms of office, while the other 10 members are elected from wards to three-year terms of office on a staggered basis, with two or four seats up for election each year.

Click on an elected official below to view their biography.

Mayor Derek  Armstead
Council President Jorge Alvarez
1st Ward Councilwoman Lisa Ormon
2nd Ward Councilman Barry Javick
3rd Ward Councilman Peter Brown Jr.
4th Ward Councilman Monty  Brooks
5th Ward Councilwoman Rhashonna Cosby-Hurling
6th Ward Councilman Robert J. Sadowski
7th Ward Councilman Ralph  Strano
8th Ward Councilwoman Michele Yamakaitis
9th Ward Councilman Armando Medina
10th Ward Councilwoman Gretchen Hickey

For current assignments please view our Standing Council Committees & Council Liaison Assignments.